About us

The Bayerische Staatsbibliothek (BSB) has been in charge of the Specialized Information Service for Musicology (FID Musicology) since 2014. Previously, it was responsible for the special collection area of musicology from 1949 to 2013. At the beginning of 2017, the Sächsische Landesbibliothek – Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Dresden (SLUB Dresden) joined the FID Musicology as a project partner at the start of the 2nd funding phase. The qualified information supply of the FID Musicology includes the printed as well as the electronic collection development including their provision and long-term archiving. In addition, proven modules of the Virtual Library of Musicology (Virtuellen Fachbibliothek Musikwissenschaft, ViFaMusik) were integrated and further developed in the FID Musicology.

The offers and services are summarized under the new brand "musiconn - musicology connected".
If you have general suggestions or questions about musiconn, please feel free to send us an email. For technical questions, please contact the staff of the FID Musicology.

The further development of musiconn is accompanied in an advisory capacity by the Advisory Board of the Specialized Information Service Musicology and the International Advisory Board, to which the following persons belong.

FID Advisory Board:

  • Prof. Dr. Stephanie Acquavella-Rauch (German Musicological Society, GfM, Gesellschaft für Musikforschung, Digital Musicology Group)

  • Prof. Dr. Florian Edler (the association of German-speaking Music Theory, Gesellschaft für Musiktheorie)

  • Dr. Tanja Gölz (Academy of Sciences and Literature, Mainz)

  • Paul Haas (IAML, Ländergruppe Deutschland e.V.)

  • Prof. Dr. Ralf Martin Jäger (International Council for Traditional Music - Nationalkomitee Deutschland)

  • Prof. Dr. Moritz Kelber (German Musicological Society, GfM, Gesellschaft für Musikforschung, Expert Group Young Prospects)

  • Ruprecht Langer (German National Library, Leipzig)

  • Prof. Dr. Panja Mücke (German Musicological Society, GfM, Gesellschaft für Musikforschung)

  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Münzmay (Musikwissenschaftliches Seminar Detmold/Paderborn)

  • Prof. Dr. Klaus Pietschmann (RISM International e.V.)

  • Dr. Martina Rebmann (Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin - Preußischer Kulturbesitz)

  • Dr. Kristina Richts-Matthaei (Music Encoding Initiative)

  • Prof. Dr. Nicole Schwindt (RISM Deutschland e.V.)

  • Till Jonas Umbach (Dachverband der Studierenden der Musikwissenschaft)

  • Prof. Dr. Melanie Wald-Fuhrmann (MPI for Empirical Aesthetics, Department of Music)


International Advisory Board:

  • David Day, PhD, Brigham Young University, Provo, Utah, USA

  • Dr. Rupert Ridgewell, British Library, London, UK

  • Darwin Scott, PhD, Princeton University, Princeton, New Jersey, USA


 You can reach all contact persons by sending an email to the musiconn editorial office.

Picture credits